Skip to content

Blender upgrades break Essential node group links #193

Description

@BrendanParmer

When upgrading a .blend file to a new Blender version, the node group still links to the essential node group blend files of the old Blender version.

A few possibilities for how this should be handled:

  • Recreate the node group by hand
    • This ignores the benefits of just linking the node group
  • Enforce linking to the old Blender version.
    • This would seem to require having that old Blender version still installed
  • Attempt to link to node group in new Blender version.
    • Gets a bit into the broader topic of forwards/backwards compatibility and handling automatic upgrades, could be somewhat messy

Leaning towards the last option right now

Activity

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    bugSomething isn't working

    Projects

    No projects

      Milestone

      No milestone

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions